Participating Congregations and Organizations
  • American Muslim Voice
  • Bahá'í Community of Palo Alto
  • Beyt Tikkun Synagogue
  • First Baptist Church Palo Alto
  • First Congregational Church (United Church of Christ) Palo Alto
  • First Evangelical Lutheran Church Palo Alto
  • First Presbyterian Church Palo Alto
  • First United Methodist Church Palo Alto
  • Network of Spiritual Progressives
  • Palo Alto Friends Meeting
  • St. Thomas Aquinas Parish, Palo Alto (Catholic)
  • Social Action Committee of the Redwood City Unitarian-Universalist Fellowship
  • Trinity Church in Menlo Park (Episcopal)
  • Unitarian Universalist Church of Palo Alto
  • Unitarian Universalist Fellowship of Los Gatos
  • West Bay Chapter, Buddhist Peace Fellowship

Who's Online
Guest Users: 2

California AJR 33 PASSED! Embrace the UN Treaty on Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons

California Assembly Joint Resolution 33 (AJR 33) calls on our federal government and our nation to make nuclear disarmament the centerpiece of our national security policy by embracing the United Nations Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons.

Update: AJR 33 PASSED ON AUGUST 28! Thank you for your work in supporting this step toward nuclear disarmament! Click here to read the press release with more information from the Nuclear Age Peace Foundation.

This resolution is short and easy to read (click here for full text), and it gives us a rare opportunity to act. It is also easily summarized. It calls on our federal leaders to:

  • Embrace the UN Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons
  • Make nuclear disarmament the centerpiece of our national security policy
  • Renounce first use
  • Take our nuclear weapons off of hair-trigger alert
  • Cancel the plan to replace the entire arsenal with enhanced weapons
  • Actively pursue a verifiable agreement among nuclear-armed states to eliminate their nuclear arsenals

Local State Senators Contact Information:

Senator Jim Beall (District 15)
Sacramento Office: State Capitol, Room 2082, Sacramento, CA 95814-4900; (916) 651-4015
District Office: 2105 S. Bascom Avenue, Suite 154, Campbell, CA 95008; (408) 558-1295
District Office: 100 Paseo de San Antonio, Suite 209, San Jose, CA 95113; (408) 286-8318

Senator Jerry Hill (District 13)
Sacramento Office: State Capitol, Room 5035, Sacramento, CA 95814-4900; (916) 651-4013
District Office: 1528 South El Camino Real, Suite 303, San Mateo, CA 94402; (650) 212-3313

A full list of California State Senators by district can be seen by clicking here.

View Printable VersionEmail Article To a Friend

What's Related

Story Options